Welcome, Guest!!
follow us on... rss

Author Topic: Problem in SMF  (Read 4889 times)

zukikev

• View Profile
Problem in SMF
« on: April 25, 2009, 10:53:05 AM »
Hi, I am not very technical, but I thought I'd be able to install BotScout in SMF with no problems and save myself the trouble from banning bots manually all the time.

SMF version 1.1.8
http://www.s4wda.com/index.php?action=forum

Tried to install Botscout using the package manager in SMF. Didn't work. Gives this line at the very top of the forum
$txt['botscout_mail_body'] = 'A bot tried to register, but was stopped from doing so.' . "\n\n" . 'Bot Name: %s' . "\n" . 'Bot Email: %s' . "\n" . 'IP Address: %s'; $txt['botscout_mail_subject'] = 'Bot Attempt Stopped';

Also, the captcha code or what ever it is when new users sign up doesn't show up anymore, thus I haven't had any new users sign up in a couple of weeks.

The simplest thing I think it could be is I didn't point to botscout.php properly. Does this look ok?
include('http://www.s4wda.com/Sources/BotScout.php');

Otherwise, I don't know what is the matter. I tried to comment ( // ) all the boutscout references in the code mentioned in the readme, but I still can't make the error message go away or get the captcha back.

I have tried with both the SMF specific Botscout code, and the generic forum code and neither have gotten me any further, following the instruction.

Hope it is simple,

Thanks for your help.

Mike

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Problem in SMF
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2009, 11:27:50 AM »
Hmmm, I'm not familiar with this error and I'm not sure what t would indicate. I'd suggest uninstalling it and returning the system to normal. Do you have other mods installed?