BotScout

General Category => BotScout Discussion => Topic started by: jar155 on May 02, 2012, 02:47:38 PM

Title: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 02, 2012, 02:47:38 PM
One of my forum admins installed it and we got this error at the top of our page. We uninstalled the mod and it's still giving the error and we'd like to remove it. Here's the error:

$txt'botscout_mail_subject' = 'Bot Attempt Stopped';
$txt'botscout_mail_body' = 'A bot tried to register, but was stopped from
doing so.' . "nn" . 'Bot Name: %s' . "n" . 'Bot Email: %s' . "n" . 'IP
Address: %s'; $txt'botscout_mail_subject' = 'Bot Attempt Stopped';
$txt'botscout_mail_body' = 'A bot tried to register, but was stopped from
doing so.' . "nn" . 'Bot Name: %s' . "n" . 'Bot Email: %s' . "n" . 'IP
Address: %s';

I've Googled the error and have noticed lots of forums with the same issue on top, so if we can find a resolution it might help a lot of people. And I still want to use the mod if I can get it installed without the error.

Thanks for the support!
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 02, 2012, 02:48:25 PM
Oops, my site is http://forums.gamertheory.com in case that's needed.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: MysteryFCM on May 02, 2012, 02:52:20 PM
Can you post a copy of the modified file please?

The error remaining after the mod was removed, will be due to SMF caching it. You'll need to clear the Cache folder (can be done via the ACP).
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: Mike on May 02, 2012, 03:02:16 PM
It's tough to tell without seeing the file, but if I had to guess I'd say that the code you're seeing got inserted before the opening php tag, or between a closing tag and an opening tag. If you can post the modified file we'll take a look.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 02, 2012, 03:06:23 PM
The file has been deleted, but from what I understand my forum admin uploaded the 1.1 version from the SMF mods site.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 03, 2012, 06:21:02 AM
Well, I deleted the mod and cleared the forum cache, but the error code remains. I've installed version 1.3 and it seems to be working fine, but the error caused by version 1.1 remains.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: Mike on May 03, 2012, 06:29:49 AM
We've no way to know what the mod did in terms of changes, but it's possible that you'll need to manually edit out some code from the page. If you can send us the page or post it here, we'll take a look.

Looking at the page, it does look like the mod didn't install correctly (and I can see the code embedded in the page). Was it installed manually or through the Package Manager?



It sounds like

Well, I deleted the mod and cleared the forum cache, but the error code remains. I've installed version 1.3 and it seems to be working fine, but the error caused by version 1.1 remains.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 03, 2012, 06:33:37 AM
It was installed through the package manager.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: Mike on May 03, 2012, 06:57:29 AM
Weird...I don't know why the package manager would hiccup like that. (??)

If you can send us the file with the code in it, I'll edit it out for you.

It was installed through the package manager.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 03, 2012, 07:15:57 AM
I've already uninstalled the BotScout mod, but I don't know where the error is coming from. I can't find the file that is still causing the error to trigger. Any ideas where I should be looking?
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: Mike on May 03, 2012, 07:50:17 AM
I'd look in the index.php file for the current theme, or in the index.template.php file for the current theme and also in the default theme.

I suspect you'll find something right near the top of the file. If not, you can send us both files and we'll take a look. PM me if you need an email address to send to.

I've already uninstalled the BotScout mod, but I don't know where the error is coming from. I can't find the file that is still causing the error to trigger. Any ideas where I should be looking?
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 03, 2012, 08:16:41 AM
PM sent.

It seems that regardless of theme, the error persists, so I don't think it's in the theme files.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: jar155 on May 03, 2012, 08:22:00 AM
Found it!

It was in the Modifications.english.php file in the theme folder.

If anybody else is having issues, that's a place to check if you've gone through the other steps first.
Title: Re: Error message showing on SMF
Post by: Mike on May 03, 2012, 08:50:39 AM
Thank you for posting the solution here, I'm sure other people will find this useful.

Found it!

It was in the Modifications.english.php file in the theme folder.

If anybody else is having issues, that's a place to check if you've gone through the other steps first.